Wednesday, June 03, 2020

Local races: Candidates who have filed for public office

by Emry Dinman
Staff Writer | May 21, 2020 12:03 AM

Two candidates were left out of Grant County’s list of candidates who had filed for public office due to an error made by the county auditor’s office. The complete list is below.

Both candidates — Larry Schaapman, running for Public Utility District Commissioner, District 3, and Danny Stone, running for Grant County Commissioner, District No. 1 — properly filed for the election before the filing deadline and will appear on ballots for the November election.


U.S. Rep. Dan Newhouse, R-Sunnyside, who represents Congressional District No. 4, which includes Grant County, is being challenged by five candidates: Douglas McKinley, a Democrat, of Richland; Sarena Sloot, a Republican, of Kennewick; Tracy “Justice” Wright, a Republican, of Grand Coulee; Ryan Cooper, a Libertarian, of Pasco; and Evan Jones, an independent, of Richland.

Legislative District 12

While incumbent Rep. Mike Steele, R-Chelan, is running unopposed for re-election to Position No. 2, incumbent Rep. Keith Goehner, R-Leavenworth, is facing a challenger, Adrianne Moore, D-Winthrop, for re-election to Position No. 1.

Sen. Brad Hawkins, R-East Wenatchee, is also running unopposed.

Legislative District 13

Rep. Alex Ybarra, R-Quincy, is up for re-election and is running unopposed. Rep. Tom Dent, R-Moses Lake, who is also up for re-election, has two challengers: Eduardo Castaneda-Diaz, a Democrat from Quincy, and “Classical Democrat” John “the man” Malan, of Quincy.

Grant Superior Court

While all three judge positions are up for re-election, only one, Judge Knodell, of Moses Lake, is being challenged for a seat, Judge Position No. 2. Deputy Prosecutor Kevin McCrae, also of Moses Lake, is the challenger in that race.

Grant County Commissioner

Two commissioner seats, for Districts 1 and 2, are up for election this year.

In the District 1 race, three candidates have filed: Mark Wanke, a Republican, of Ephrata; Danny Stone, a Republican, of Hartline; and Earl Romig, a Republican, of Moses Lake. The current commissioner for District 1, Commissioner Richard Stevens, is not running for re-election.

Incumbent Tom Taylor, a Republican, of Moses Lake, is running for re-election for District No. 2 and is being challenged by Rob Jones, a Republican, of Moses Lake.

Grant County Public Utility District

Two Grant PUD commissioner positions are up for election. In both cases, incumbents are running unopposed: Tom Flint, for District A at large; and Larry Schaapman, for District No. 3.