Moses Lake students compete in music contest

State competition is in April

Print Article

Vocalists from Moses Lake High School competed in the North Central Washington Music Educators Association Regional Solo/Ensemble Contest.

MOSES LAKE - Student vocalists and instrumentalists at Moses Lake High School and Chief Moses Middle School competed in the North Central Washington Music Educators Association Regional Solo/Ensemble Contest.

Student performances were adjudicated and students received a rating based on their performances. Top high school students are selected to represent the region at a state competition in April.

Students at the high school were instructed by David Holloway, Dan Beich and Mike Divelbiss. Students at the middle school were instructed by Bart Gish.

Students were accompanied by Evelyn Daniels-Brown, Elaine Fox, Brenda Lance, and Shirley Diamond.

Category winners for the high school vocal/piano solo and ensemble contest were Taya Sandmann (soprano), Taylor Benson and Madisyn Lybbert (mixed vocal, small) and Mikenna Jones (mezzo soprano).

Students also won the category for mixed vocals in a large group. The students in that group were: Gavin Rummler, Jordan Earl, Jared Jones, Austin Mounts, Tyler Benson, Brandon Hanson, Bryce Merkely, Alex Rose, Holly Tye, Miranda Byington, Sarah Law, Ashlie Thunder, Michelle Flores, Nicole Rhodes, Brittany Callahan and Madisyn Lybbert.

First alternate was Madiysn Lybbert (soprano) and second alternate was Taylor Benson (baritone).

Other participants were Jaqueline Thomas (alto), Camron Gran (tenor), Michael Loeffler (baritone), Cody Morrow (baritone), Joshua Fairbanks (baritone), Rebecca Waites (piano), Hayley Manly (piano),

Christian Phillips (soprano), Holly Tye (soprano), Lesli Jorgenson (soprano), Jared Jones and Jessica Snook (mixed vocal, small), Courtney Ingram (mezzo soprano), Jessica Snook (mezzo soprano), CJ Gilliland (mezzo soprano), Amanda Lance (mezzo soprano), Belen Rodriguez (alto), Monica Kerr (alto), Cherie Fackrell (alto), Amber Garrett (alto), Tyler Benson (baritone), Brittany Callahan (alto), Breann Bleazard and Julissa Jones (women's vocal, small).

High school instrumentalist category winners were Tyler DeLong (mallets), Ashley Donaldson (trumpet), Drew Miller (guitar) and Yessica Moreno (alto saxophone). First alternates were Nick Garcia (trombone) and Sara Oord (clarinet). Second alternates were Tyler DeLong (snare drum) and Alex McCraken (trumpet).

Other participants were Josh Oord (trumpet), Sarah Champion (flute), Aislynn Hastings (flute), Allyson Weaver (flute), Camilla Plate (trombone), Shannan Stevens (trombone), David (DJ) Haley (trombone), Spencer Lance (trumpet), Daniel Zimmer (trumpet), Angela Quinn (trumpet), Catherine Fox (mallets), Ashley Carter (mallets), Dustin Garcia (bass clarinet), Camron Gran (clarinet), Amanda Lance (clarinet), Melissa Gallardo (clarinet), Lincoln Fish (alto saxophone), Rebeccah Plate (alto saxophone), Derek Dunkin (alto saxophone), Logan Roylance (alto saxophone). Nate VanWinkle (alto saxophone), Hannah Adams (tenor saxophone), Victoria Rojas (string bass), Ashley Pickett (string bass), Isabel Curry (oboe),

Savannah Scriven-Hohnson (timpani), Nick Ponce (multiple percussion), Savanna Scriven Johnson (snare drum), Dustin Garcia (trombone), Al Valdez (flute) and Vanessa Montana (flute).

Students from Chief Moses Middle School were: Abi Moser (clarinet trio), Kendra Baldwin (clarinet trio), Lauren Beich (clarinet trio), Madison Hesse (clarinet), Coleman Cooper (alto sax), Hunter Kendall (trombone), Steven McLain (French horn), Nathan Fisher (Cornet), Lauren Beich (clarinet), James Zimmer (alto saxophone), Sophia Howard (trumpet), Madison Hesse (clarinet duet), Brianna Hansen (clarinet duet), Alex Rodriguez (trumpet duet), William Boswell (trumpet duet), Dion Candanoza (alto saxophone), Marissa Makus (flute), Brendan Fillmore (snare drum), Alondra Candela (flute), Cristian Garcia (trumpet), Chinaza Abonyi (flute), Luke Mounts (snare drum), Tori Copley (flute), Jacob Law (clarinet), Alondra Candela (flute duet), Alexandra Dogbe (flute duet), Morgan Haughton (clarinet), Stephanie Yonko (flute), Kendra Baldwin (clarinet), Kirsten Hutsell (flute), Renee' Thorn (clarinet), Emanuel Hernandez (snare drum), Estrella Ceja (clarinet duet), Sami Courtright (clarinet duet).

Print Article

Read More News

Columbia Basin Media Group brings home a record 25 awards

October 17, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald YAKIMA In an ever-changing industry where technology is quickly overriding the human touch, the Columbia Basin Media Group showed its ability to change with the times, yet hold to good old-fashione...


Read More

Patti Paris running for open PUD seat

October 17, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald EPHRATA — Patti Paris said she decided to run for the Grant County PUD commission because "it is time for me to give back to the community,” and “the PUD is the best fit for me.R...


Read More

Recordbreaking money coming into Grant PUD race

October 17, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald Money continues to flood into the Grant County Public Utility District elections at a record pace, primarily from advocacy group AG Power Users of Grant County, which has already donated almost $54,0...


Read More

Brewer running for third term as PUD commissioner

October 17, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald EPHRATA Terry Brewer said PUD commissioners have to plan for the long term. Brewer is running for a third term as Grant County PUD commissioner. He is being challenged by Judy Wilson, Moses Lake. ...


Read More

Contact Us

(509) 765-4561
PO Box 910
Moses Lake, WA 98837

©2018 Columbia Basin Herald Terms of Use Privacy Policy