CWAC North all-league football; Othello’s Isaiah Perez Defensive MVP

Print Article

Rodney Harwood/Columbia Basin Herald Othello linebacker Anthony Veliz was second team all-league.

Offensive MVP: Alex Hampton, East Valley

Defensive MVP: Isaiah Perez, Othello

Coach of the Year: Jay Mills, Ephrata staff

Sportsmanship: Quincy High School

First-team offense: Zach McAllister, center, East Valley, 12; Landon Davis, guard, Ephrata, 12; Tayler Blume, guard, Ellensburg, 10; Kyle Mills, tackle, Quincy, 12; Ben Vick, tackle, Ellensburg, 10; Trevor Hilmes, running back, Othello, 12; Kenny Lewis, running back, East Valley, 12; Trace Townsend, running back, Ellensburg, 12; Kyler Villarreal, utility player, Othello, 12; Alex Hampton, quarterback, East Valley, 12; Chase Oldham, tight end, East Valley, 12; Hunter James, tight end, Ephrata, 11; Gates Petersen, wide receiver, Quincy, 12; Carlos Solario, wide receiver, Quincy, 12; Jake Oxos, wide receiver, Ephrata, 12.

Second-team offense: James England, center, Ellensburg, 12; Lukas Bafus, guard, Ephrata, 12; Michael Toby, guard, East Valley, 10; Cody Follett, tackle, Ephrata, 12; Randy Hodges, tackle, Quincy, 12; Leeland Burleson, running back, Ephrata, 12; Logan Mallick, running back, Ellensburg, 10; Isaiah Perez, running back, Othello, 10; Brady Gibson, utility player, Ellensburg, 12; Zac Berryman, quarterback, Ephrata, 12; Tyson Thornton, tight end, Quincy, 12; Chris Walker, wide receiver, Ephrata, 12.

First-team defense: Carlos Solario, cornerback, Quincy; Patrick Azevedo, cornerback, Othello; Max Hagler, safety, East Valley; Spencer Conaway, safety, Ellensburg; Alejandro Gonzalez, safety, Othello; Cade Stevenson, defensive tackle, Ellensburg; Logan Halaapiapi, defensive tackle, Ellensburg; Gavan Allen, defensive end, Ephrata; Isaiah Perez, defensive end, Othello; Leeland Burleson, inside linebacker, Ephrata; Trevor Hilmes, inside linebacker, Othello; Riley Mace, outside linebacker, Ellensburg; Sam Azevedo, outside linebacker, Othello.

Second-team defense: Efrain Palomores, cornerback, Othello; Tyson Thornton, safety, Quincy; Royal Jones, defensive tackle, East Valley; Carl Randolph, defensive end, East Valley; Kyle Mills, defensive end, Quincy; Miguel Preciado, inside linebacker, Quincy; Anthony Veliz, inside linebacker, Othello; Jake Oxos, outside linebacker, Ephrata; Alex Hampton, outside linebacker, East Valley.

First-team specialty: Josh Benthem, punter, Ephrata; Josh Benthem, kicker, Ephrata; Alex Hampton, returner, East Valley.

Second-team specialty: Alex Hampton, punter, East Valley; Patrick Azevedo, kicker, Othello; Trace Townsend, returner, Ellensburg.

CWAC volleyball

Player of the Year: Tia Andaya, Ellensburg

Coach of the Year: Wendy Meirndorf, Prosser

Sportsmanship: Grandview

First team: Maddy Quigley, Selah, outside hitter, 12; Taylor Breksinski, Selah, libero, 12; Kayla Lind, Prosser, setter, 11; Ashley Ripplinger, Prosser, middle hitter, 11; Leah Blakney, Prosser, middle hitter, 12; Madison Martin, Ephrata, middle, 12; Kiana Miller, Ephrata, libero, 12; Tia Andaya, Ellensburg, setter/outside hitter, 11.

Second team: Payton Lysski, Ellensburg, outside hitter, 10; Leah Stueckle, Ellensburg, libero, 10; Grace Oldham, Ellensburg, outside hitter, 10; Samantha Dexter, Selah, setter/defensive specialist, 12; Corina Garza, East Valley, outside hitter/middle blocker, 12; Monetia Garza, East Valley, right side, 12; Bailey Duis, Grandview, middle, 10; Hannah Goodspeed, Ephrata, middle, 12.

Honorable mention: Shauny Fisk, Ellensburg, outside hitter, 10; Maia Valencia, Ellensburg, setter, 10; Catherine Bechard, Selah, middle blocker/outside hitter, 11; Cheyenne Rath, Selah, right side, 11; Corinne Pettyjohn, Selah, middle blocker, 12; Brandi Groeneveld, Prosser, libero, 12; Kylie Colson, Prosser, outside hitter, 12; Cassidy Eucker, Grandview, outside hitter, 11; Mykiah Hollenbeck, Othello, outside hitter, 12; Morgan Kleyn, Quincy, outside hitter, 11.

CWAC cross country


Runner of the Year: Daniel Callahan, Selah

Coach of the Year: Rick Becker, Selah

Sportsmanship: Selah/Ellensburg

First team: Daniel Callahan, Selah; Dominic Mathias, Ellensburg; Shea Mattson, Selah; Haiden Drury, Toppenish; Lorenzo Alvarado, Wapato; Christoper Urakawa, Selah; Anders Ott, Ellensburg.

Second team: Gideon Bolton, Selah, Kolby Tune, Ephrata; Isak Larson, Ellensburg; Adrian Benitez, Grandview; Gonzalo Birrueta, Quincy; Noe Lopez, Wapato; Andres Keith, Ellensburg.

Honorable mention: Reese Braman, Ellensburg; Trysten Crawford, Selah; Patrick Adkisson, Ellensburg; David Maldonado, Othello; Anthony Sanchez, Toppenish; Anthony Gonzales, Grandview.


Runner of the Year: Molly Mattson, Selah

Coach of the Year: Kelly Mattson, Selah

Sportsmanship: Ellensburg

First team: Molly Mattson, Selah; Uhuru Hashimoto, Ellensburg; Kaylea Hartman, Selah; Emily Dittmer, Ellensburg; Leah Holmgren, Ellensburg; Karen Billingsley, Ephrata; Bryn Heikes, Quincy.

Second team: Anna Swedin, Selah; Natalie Andreas, East Valley; Audrey Piacsek, Ellensburg; Ketra Pope, Selah; Nati Vermulm, Prosser; Janealle Sutterlict, Wapato; Jane Kennedy, Quincy.

Honorable mention: Haley Benedetti, East Valley; Elisa Wallace, Ellensburg; Dagny Ahrend, Ephrata; Charis Williams, Selah; Andrea Inguanzo, Toppenish; Madison Thompson, Ellensburg.

Print Article

Read More High School

Warden’s Arredondo ready to test himself at Florida tournament

July 10, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald FORT MYERS, Fla. — Ryan Arredondo is taking his talents to south ... Florida. Warden’s wunderkind will compete in the 2018 17U BCS National Championship in Fort Myers, Fla. this week, a baseball tou...


Read More

Team Washington Huskies win gold medal at USA Games

July 06, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald SEATTLE — Their journey at the 2018 Special Olympics USA Games in Seattle was a dream, playing at the University of Washington soccer stadium, being a part of ESPN’s global coverage and marching into...


Read More

Signorelli named to USA TODAY High School Sports All-USA Washington Baseball Team

July 06, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald Columbia Basin Big Nine Player of the Year Dominic Signorelli of Moses Lake added another accolade to the growing list when the Chiefs senior was named to the USA TODAY High School Sports All-USA Was...


Read More

Royal’s Michael Rojas named Gatorade Washington State Boys Soccer Player of the Year

June 19, 2018 at 5:00 am | Columbia Basin Herald Royal senior midfielder Michael Rojas was named the Gatorade Washington State Boys Soccer Player of the Year on Monday. Rojas, who led the Knights to third in state, totaled 19 goals and seven assis...


Read More

Contact Us

(509) 765-4561
PO Box 910
Moses Lake, WA 98837

©2018 Columbia Basin Herald Terms of Use Privacy Policy